Spirit of Montana Award

Governor Gianforte’s Spirit of Montana award is a recognition of Montanans for their accomplishments, dedication, or service to our communities.

Nominate someone for the governor's Spirit of Montana award by contacting the Governor's Office at (406) 444-3111 or by submitting the nomination online.

Click Here to Nominate

Previous Recipients

Past recipients of the governor's Spirit of Montana Award include:

  • Mary Orler, recognizing the longtime healthcare provider, for her more than 46 years of service as a nurse to the Red Lodge community. awarded August 11, 2023
  • Kelcey and Nancy Diemert, recognizing the Hi-Line resident, for their entrepreneurial spirit and long-time commitment to their community, awarded July 19, 2023
  • Mary Louise Peters, recognizing the Northwest Montana resident, for her continued support of the Fish, Wildlife & Parks block management program, awarded June 8, 2023
  • Officer Alex Vance, recognizing the Great Falls Police Department officer, for his quick, decisive action that saved a man’s life, awarded May 10, 2023
  • Shirlee Boitnott, recognizing the Marine Corps League volunteer, for selflessly serving her community and Montana’s veterans as a dedicated volunteer, awarded December 1, 2022
  • Missoula Fire Department, recognizing the firefighters, for executing a technical rescue of an injured paraglider who crashed into a tree, awarded September 15, 2022
  • Riverside Contracting, recognizing the construction crew, for their highly skilled, swift response to the historic flooding of the Yellowstone River, awarded July 1, 2022
  • Lewistown Police Department, recognizing the K9 unit, for their work in keeping drugs off the street and protecting the Lewistown community, awarded June 7, 2022
  • Hallie Mitchell, recognizing the Chinook High School student, for her entrepreneurial spirit as the small business owner of Boss Mare Beading, awarded April 28, 2022
  • Jazmin Gorder, recognizing the Poplar High School student-athlete, president of the student council, and two-time state wrestling champion for inspiring other young women, awarded April 21, 2022
  • Sandhills Sewing & Vacuum, recognizing the company that has served eastern Montana for over 50 years, awarded March 24, 2022
  • Elysian Schools Lighthouse Committee, recognizing students who made and distributed gift bags for health care workers during the pandemic, awarded March 2, 2022
  • Anaconda Foundry Fabrication Company, recognizing the foundry’s critical role in quickly building a part to help repair the Hebgen Dam, awarded January 25, 2022
  • Noah Jensen, recognizing the Glacier High School senior who launched the nonprofit “Cleats for Kids” program, awarded December 16, 2021
  • Madison Valley Women's Club, recognizing the club’s 100 years of service to its community, awarded August 10, 2021
  • Billings Fire Department Technical Rescue Team, recognizing the team for saving the life of a man trapped in a silo, awarded June 30, 2021
  • Betsy Schaffer, recognizing the Special Olympics Montana's 2020 Athlete of the Year for her accomplishments and for inspiring others with her joy and love of life, awarded June 24, 2021
  • Rob Selvig, recognizing the former University of Montana women's basketball coach for 38 years of service and his legacy of inspiring Montana girls and young women to play basketball, awarded May 13, 2021
  • Desiree Bain, recognizing the director of the Willis Cruse House in Helena for her service to Montana veterans, awarded April 29, 2021