

CHAIR
Spencer Cox
Governor of Utah

VICE CHAIR

Jared Polis

Governor of Colorado

April 29, 2024

The Honorable Lloyd J. Austin, III Secretary of Defense United States Department of Defense 1000 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-1000

## Dear Secretary Austin:

As Governors representing 53 states and territories, we are writing to express our strong opposition to Legislative Proposal 480 (LP480) submitted by the Department of Defense to the Senate Armed Services Committee. This legislation disregards gubernatorial authorities regarding the National Guard and undermines over 100 years of precedent as well as national security and military readiness.

Ensuring the National Guard is adequately equipped with resources and capabilities to serve as the operational combat reserve for national security missions and to support domestic emergencies is among the National Governors Association's highest priorities. It is imperative that Governors retain the authority laid out in United States Code (U.S.C.) Title 32, Section 104. LP480 undercuts this critical authority by allowing a transfer of covered space units from the National Guard to the United States Space Force without abiding by Title 32 or Title 10.

Specifically, section 18238 of Title 10 states that there should be no removal or withdrawal of a unit of the Air National Guard without consultation and approval from Governors. Additionally, section 104 of Title 32 states there is to be no change in the branch, organization, or allotment of National Guard units within a state or territory without the approval of its Governor.

For over a century, Title 10 and Title 32 of U.S.C have upheld gubernatorial authority over the National Guard. National Guard assets are critical components of states' and territories' responses to crises. Governors must maintain full authority as Commanders in Chief of these assets to effectively protect operational readiness and America's communities.

Legislation that sidesteps, eliminates or otherwise reduces Governors' authority within their states and territories undermines longstanding partnerships, precedence, military readiness and operational efficacy. This action also negatively affects the important relationships between Governors and DOD at a time when we need to have full trust and confidence between the two to meet the growing threats posed by the era of strategic competition as well as natural disasters. LP480 also poses a threat to the careers of state-based service members who will be forced to choose between state service or continuing in their current field at a time when there are already significant recruitment challenges. An action like this will violate the trust of the brave women and men who have volunteered to serve our states and our nation.

Governors look forward to collaborating with congressional leaders and federal officials to ensure strong national security. Our top priority is the success of critical national security missions, both at home and abroad, which necessitates protecting Governors' rights to lead as Commanders in Chiefs. Any federal efforts or legislative actions intended to disregard or weaken these authorities will negatively impact our ability to serve the nation and deeply damage the relationship between states and the federal government.

For these reasons, we urge you to oppose LP480. Thank you again for your attention to this critical matter.

Sincerely,

Governor Spencer Cox

State of Utah

Chair, National Governors Association

Governor Kay Ivey State of Alabama

Governor Lemanu Peleti Mauga American Samoa

Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders State of Arkansas

Governor Ned Lamont State of Connecticut Governor Jared Polis State of Colorado

Vice Chair, National Governors Association

Governor Mike Dunleavy State of Alaska

Governor Katie Hobbs State of Arizona

Governor Gavin Newsom State of California

Governor John Carney State of Delaware B:Ph

Governor Brian Kemp State of Georgia

Governor Josh Green, M.D.

Governor JB Pritzker State of Illinois

State of Hawaii

Governor Kim Reynolds State of Iowa

Governor Andy Beshear State of Kentucky

Governor Janet Mills State of Maine

Governor Maura Healey State of Massachusetts Lou den Decens

Governor Lou Leon Guerrero Guam

Governor Brad Little State of Idaho

= MC HOLEOMB

Governor Eric Holcomb State of Indiana

laura telly

Governor Laura Kelly State of Kansas

Governor Jeff Landry State of Louisiana

Governor Wes Moore State of Maryland

Governor Gretchen Whitmer State of Michigan

5 2. Wal

Governor Tim Walz State of Minnesota

Thurs Dans

Governor Mike Parson State of Missouri

Jim tiller

Governor Jim Pillen State of Nebraska

Chithe T. Summe

Governor Chris Sununu State of New Hampshire

Michelle hujan Sishan

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham State of New Mexico

Governor Roy Cooper State of North Carolina Tovernor Tate Reeves

Governor Tate Reeves State of Mississippi

Governor Greg Gianforte State of Montana

Governor Joe Lombardo State of Nevada

Governor Phil Murphy State of New Jersey

Governor Kathy Hochul State of New York

Governor Doug Burgum State of North Dakota Mala Covernor Amald Palacies

Governor Arnold Palacios

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Km St

Governor Kevin Stitt State of Oklahoma

Jen Stz

Governor Josh Shapiro State of Pennsylvania

Carel/hte

Governor Dan McKee State of Rhode Island

Governor Kristi Noem State of South Dakota

Governor Albert Bryan U.S. Virgin Islands

Governor Glenn Youngkin State of Virginia mile Dewin

Governor Mike DeWine State of Ohio

Tin Katet

Governor Tina Kotek State of Oregon

Mirhin

Governor Pedro Pierluisi Puerto Rico

Somm, Withatte

Governor Henry McMaster State of South Carolina

Billee

Governor Bill Lee State of Tennessee

Governor Phil Scott State of Vermont

Governor Jay Inslee State of Washington Governor Jim Justice State of West Virginia Governor Tony Evers State of Wisconsin

Jony Em

Governor Mark Gordon State of Wyoming

Mars Serdon

## cc:

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., President of the United States

The Honorable Mike Johnson, Speaker, United State House of Representatives

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer, Majority Leader, United States Senate

The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader, United States Senate

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, Minority Leader, United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Jack Reed, Chairman, Committee on Armed Services, United States Senate

The Honorable Roger Wicker, Ranking Member, Committee on Armed Services, United States Senate

The Honorable Mike Rogers, Chairman, Committee on Armed Services, United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Adam Smith, Ranking Member, Committee on Armed Services, United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Frank Kendall, Secretary of the United States Air Force

The Honorable Alex Wagner, Assistant Secretary of the United States Air Force

General CQ Brown, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, United States

General David Allvin, Chief of Staff, United States Air Force

General Bradley Saltzman, Chief of Space Operations, United States Air Force

General Dan Hokanson, Chief of the National Guard Bureau

Lieutenant General Mike Loh, Director of the Air National Guard