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 COMES NOW, Kathryn McEnery, Powell County Attorney, for the State of 

Montana and submits its response to the Petitioner’s request for relief from sexual offender 

registration.  However, the State requests that the Court reserve ruling until the Montana 

Supreme Court issues an opinion in State v. Hinman, DA 20-0197. 

Just on Tuesday of this week, the Montana Supreme Court directed briefing on 

whether it should reconsider the holding of State v. Mount, 2003 MT 275.  The issue in 

Mount and now in Hinman, is whether the 1997 amendments to the Sexual or Violent 

Offender Act, which declared they were retroactive to 1989, violate ex post facto clauses.     

The Court’s ruling in Hinman will determine whether Morgan’s duty to register 

automatically expired in 2008, or whether he is required to maintain his petition for relief. 

 The statute on sexual offender registration as it stood in 1994, when Morgan was 

convicted, provided for automatic expiration of the duty to register after ten years, provided 
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that during that time he did not commit another sexual offense.  See, e.g., State v. Sedler, 

2020 MT 248, ¶ 14.  Morgan meets these criteria. If the Court rules that the 1997 

amendments violate ex post facto clauses, then his request for relief must be granted.   

 If analyzed under the current statutory framework requiring lifetime registration, 

Morgan is technically eligible for relief from registration, although today the Court must 

first consider the opinion of the victim, and whether registration is necessary for public 

protection and the best interest of society.  The State and victim oppose on this basis. 

RELEVANT FACTS 

 The State concurs with Mr. Morgan as to the general facts in his petition.  He is a 

resident of Lewis and Clark County.  He was convicted in the Montana Third Judicial 

District Court, DC-93-14, of the crime of Incest of a 13-year old, a felony violation of Mont. 

Code Ann. § 45-5-507 (1993).  He was sentenced January 20, 1994 to 20 years 

imprisonment at the Montana State Prison with 12 years suspended.  A condition of his 

sentence was that he be required to register as a sex offender as per Mont. Code Ann. § 46-

18-254 and § 46-18-255 (1993). 

 Mr. Morgan was released from MSP in 1998, and his duty to register began then.  

He discharged the sentence at DC-93-15 in 2010.  Supervision by Probation & Parole was 

continued from 2012-2017 because of a violation of medical marijuana privileges.  

 In 2018, his Probation & Parole Officer agreed that Morgan met the statutory criteria 

for filing a petition for relief of the duty to register.  In particular, the officer stated that 

although tier designations had not been defined at the time of his conviction, were he to be 

sentenced today, he would be classified as a Level 1 sexual offender. 
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 In correspondence with the Powell County Attorney, the Probation & Parole officer 

recalled no lapses in registration during the period of her supervision.  A check on his 

criminal history by the Powell County Attorney found no violations of the law from 2012 

to date and found he has been registered as a sexual offender since February, 1998, slightly 

more than 23 years. 

 The State has met with the victim and provided her with a copy of the petition as 

required by law.  The victim opposes the petition and respectfully waives a statement or 

hearing, but states she would appear and testify if required to by the Court. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

 In 1993, the penalty for Incest, where the victim is under 16 years of age, was a 

maximum of 20 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $50,000.  Exhibit 1. Mont. Code 

Ann. § 45-5-507 (1993).  The statute as it stands today includes an enhanced punishment 

for a victim under 12 years of age, but this was not a part of the 1993 statute. 

 In 1993, a person’s duty to register was provided at Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-504.  

The duty to register, at Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506, terminated 10 years from date of 

release from prison and initial registration, provided that the person is not subject to 

registration for another sexual offense.  Exhibit 2, Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-501 to -507 

(1993); Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-254, -255 (1993). 

 In 1995, while Morgan was incarcerated, the Sexual Offender Registration Act was 

amended to require a sexual offender to register for life, but allowing an offender who has 

been registered for ten years to petition for relief, granted on a finding that he has remained 

a law-abiding citizen and continued registration is not necessary for public protection and 
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relief from registration is in the best interest of society.  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506 

(1995).  The 1995 amendments are not expressly retroactive.  Mont. Code Ann. § 1-2-109. 

 In 1997, the Act’s registration requirements were made retroactive to “sexual 

offenders who are sentenced or are in the custody or under the supervision of the 

department of corrections on or after July 1, 1989.”  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-502, 

Compiler’s Comments.  Then, in 2003, the Montana Supreme Court held that the 

retroactivity provision did not violate the ex post facto clauses of the United States or 

Montana constitutions, and were nonpunitive.  In State v. Mount, 2003 MT 275, ¶¶ 89-90. 

 Today, tier level designations are an additional component of the statutory scheme 

for relief of the lifetime duty to register.  Under the current statute, Mont. Code Ann. § 46-

23-506 (2019), a sexual offender must register for life, except that a Level 1 sexual offender 

may petition for relief from registration after 10 years, and a Level 2 sexual offender may 

petition for relief from registration after 25 years.  Id.  

 Under the current scheme, the requirement of a hearing is implied, and the court 

must consider any oral or written statements of the victim.  A court may then grant a 

petition upon a finding that the offender has remained a law-abiding citizen and continued 

registration is not necessary for public protection and that relief from registration is in the 

best interests of society.  Id.  Certain offenders may never petition for relief:  those who 

have been convicted of a second or subsequent sexual offense, or if the victim of the incest 

was under 12 years of age. Id., at Subsection (5). 

 The State has reviewed a recent Montana Supreme Court opinion, State v. Sedler, 

2020 MT 248.  This is an opinion regarding requirements to register as a violent offender 
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under § 46-23-506, and whether the 1997 registration requirement automatically ends 

without the need to file a petition.  A portion of the Court’s reasoning, at ¶ 14, states: 

Pursuant to this statute [the 1997 version of § 45-23-506], upon an offender 

[a violent offender] not being convicted of failing to register or of a felony 

offense for ten years post-release from confinement or sentencing, the 

registration requirement automatically ended without any petitioning 

requirement.  This version of the statute was in effect at the time Sedler was 

sentenced on his original violent offense.  Thus, Sedler had a reasonable 

expectation he did not need to continue registering as a violent offender upon 

expiration of ten years after he was released from DPHHS custody if he 

maintained his registration and incurred no felony conviction. 

 

State v. Sedler, 2020 MT 248, ¶ 14.   

The State has contacted the Montana Attorney General regarding the applicability 

of the Court’s “reasonable expectation” reasoning in Sedler to a sexual offender’s duty to 

petition for relief from registration.  At this time, the Attorney General’s position is that 

the current state of the law requires a petition.  However, the State has been made aware 

that on August 17, 2021, the Montana Supreme Court issued an order for briefing in State 

v. Hinman, DA-20-0197, in which it was stated: 

We conclude a nonfrivolous issue exists as to whether this Court should 

reconsider our determination in State v. Mount, 2003 MT 275, 317 Mont. 

481, 78 P.3d 829, upholding the retroactive provision of the Sexual or 

Violent Offender Registration Act. 

 

State v. Hinman, DA 20-0197, August 17, 2021.  Hinman is a case involving the 

registration of a sexual offender who was convicted in 1994 and was discharged from 

prison in 2000.  The Attorney General’s office advised that the Court may be willing to 

agree with an argument based on “reasonable expectation” and conclude that the 

retroactive lifetime registration does violate ex post facto clauses. 
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ANALYSIS 

 The State has analyzed this issue under two frameworks. 

1993 Statute 

 Morgan is entitled to expiration of the duty to register as of 2008, ten years after he 

was released from prison and began registering.  Morgan was registered from 1998 to 2008, 

and his felony conviction on the drug charge was not a violent or sexual offense, and did 

not occur within the ten years of his initial registration.  Although Sedler applies 

specifically to violent offenders, the State finds the reasoning of the Court as to the 

“reasonable expectation” of the petitioner to be compelling.  Since the statute in force in 

1994 required only ten years of registration, and the 1995 statute was not specifically 

retroactive, then Morgan had a reasonable expectation that he did not need to continue 

registering after ten years and no new felony convictions, and also, that he did not even 

need to petition for this relief. 

 The Supreme Court has recently invited briefing on whether it should reconsider its 

determination in Mount that the retroactivity provisions of the 1997 amendments do not 

violate ex post facto clauses of the U.S. and Montana constitutions.  The Attorney General’s 

office has indicated that the Court may now conclude that they do. 

Today’s Statutory Scheme 

 The State agrees that based on the facts of the Judgment in DC-93-15 that none of 

the exceptions found at subsection Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506 (5) apply and he is not 

prohibited from filing his petition.  

 The State agrees that Morgan has registered as required, for at least the 10 years that 
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would be required of a Level 1 sexual offender, and almost the 25 years required of a Level 

2 sexual offender.   

 The State agrees that Morgan has not been convicted of a subsequent sexual offense 

since his release from prison; perhaps the duty to register acted as a deterrent. 

 The State concurs with his Probation & Parole Officer, who opined that despite his 

conviction for the violation of his medical marijuana privileges, which sentence was 

discharged in 2017, Morgan has remained law-abiding. 

 Under the current scheme, Morgan is technically eligible for the relief requested 

based on the crime for which he was convicted.1  

 If analyzed under the current scheme, the State would assert that other than meeting 

the technical requirements, Morgan does not present a very compelling case for relief.  His 

petition states only that registration represents a continued and unnecessary cost to himself 

and the State.  He does not describe any benefit to society achieved by potential relief from 

the duty to register, for example, increased employment opportunities.  His petition does 

not acknowledge the importance that the sexual offender registry represents to the 

community as a measure of community protection and offender deterrence.  And, his 

petition does not address the impact of his conduct on the victim.   

 The State has met with the victim, who opposes Morgan’s petition.  If analyzed 

under the current statutory scheme, the State would argue that continued registration of this 

offender is required for public protection and is in the best interest of society.  Continued 

registration provides a measure of justice for the victim of an offender who was only 

                                                 
1 Morgan was not convicted at trial; thus the court record reflects only the facts supporting the charges for which he 

was convicted, not facts as to all of the other allegations in the State’s Information or in the county attorney files.  
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incarcerated for four of the twenty years to which he was sentenced.  The offender is only 

57 years old, and the deterrent effect of registration is still needed to protect vulnerable 

members of the public. 

CONCLUSION 

 The State opposes Morgan’s petition, but concedes that it may have to be granted in 

accordance with the law.  The State respectfully waives a hearing on this matter.  The State 

asks that the Court reserve ruling until the Montana Supreme Court issues its decision in 

State v. Hinman. 

 Respectfully submitted this 19th August, 2021. 

Kathryn McEnery /s/ 
Kathryn McEnery, electronically signed 

Powell County Attorney 
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MONTANA THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT, POWELL COUNTY 

 

 

STATE OF MONTANA,  

  Plaintiff,  

 v. 

 

CHRISTOPHER MICHAEL KEPLER,  

  Defendant. 

 

 

Cause No. DC-2013-08 

 

STATE’S SECOND SENTENCING 

MEMORANDUM 

 

The State now submits a supplemental sentencing memorandum.   

Primary Issue:  Which revocation statute applies, Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-203, 

or § 46-14-304?   

Answer:  They both do.  They work in concert.  Chapter 18 is primarily focused on 

defendants who receive a DOC sentence where mental illness was not an issue at the time 

of the commission of the offense.  Chapter 14 is narrowly focused on defendants who 

receive a DPHHS sentence where mental illness was an issue at the time of the commission 

of the offense.  The State’s position is that Chapter 14 is primary. 

Secondary Issue:  Assuming that § 46-14-304 is controlling, did the State present 

sufficient evidence that Kepler still presents a risk of harm?   

Answer:  Yes.  See below. 
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Disposition of Defendant, Mental Competency – Title 46, Chapter 14, Part 3. 

The Defendant should be sentenced, upon revocation, in accordance with this Part.  

Statutes relevant to disposition of a defendant where mental health is a factor are found at 

Part 3.  Two kinds of mental competency are addressed in this part.  The first is “not guilty 

by reason of lack of mental state” and the other, defined at § 46-14-311, is a person who 

“at the time of the commission of the offense of which convicted the defendant was 

suffering from a mental disease or disorder or developmental disability that rendered the 

defendant unable to appreciate the criminality of the defendant's behavior or to conform 

the defendant's behavior to the requirements of law.”  Mr. Kepler is the second type. 

Consideration of Kepler’s mental competency at sentencing is to follow the 

procedure set forth at § -311.  As per this subpart, a mental evaluation was recently 

conducted by Dr. Smelko.  Although the evaluation was not statutorily required —  because 

Kepler was already convicted in 2014 as amended in 2017 — the Court inquired in 

December whether a more recent evaluation could be made available, and so one was 

arranged.  The evaluation was required to include recommendations as to Kepler’s care, 

custody, and treatment needs, which it did. 

The sentence to be imposed now is found at part § -312.  Indeed, Kepler was 

sentenced under this subpart in both 2014 and as amended in 2017.  D.C. Doc. 99.  The 

statute describing sentencing of a person like Kepler states: 

The court shall sentence the defendant to be committed to the custody of the 

director of the department of public health and human services to be placed, 

after consideration of the recommendations of the professionals providing 

treatment to the defendant and recommendations of the professionals who 

have evaluated the defendant, in an appropriate correctional facility, mental 
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health facility, as defined in 53-21-102, residential facility, as defined in 53-

20-102, or developmental disabilities facility, as defined in 53-20-202, for 

custody, care, and treatment for a definite period of time not to exceed the 

maximum term of imprisonment that could be imposed under subsection (1). 

The director may, after considering the recommendations of the 

professionals providing treatment to the defendant and recommendations of 

the professionals who have evaluated the defendant, subsequently transfer 

the defendant to another correctional, mental health, residential, or 

developmental disabilities facility that will better serve the defendant's 

custody, care, and treatment needs. The authority of the court with regard to 

sentencing is the same as authorized in Title 46, chapter 18, if the treatment 

of the individual and the protection of the public are provided for. 

 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-312 (2), emphasis added.  The plain language of the statute 

provides that it is the Director of the Department of Public Health and Human Services to 

arrange for an appropriate placement of a defendant and any subsequent transfer or release.  

The Director of DPHHS is aware of Dr. Smelko’s evaluation and suggested treatment. 

 

Revocation of Conditional Release 

The revocation of a conditional release of a person for whom mental health is an 

issue follows Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-304. 1  This term “conditional release” as used in 

this subpart is not specifically defined elsewhere in the code.  These are ordinary words, 

and it is undisputed that Kepler at the time of his recent psychotic episodes, he was on a 

release from DPHHS custody, subject to a number of conditions.  Hence, a conditional 

release. It is undisputed that at hearing held on February 22, 2022, Kepler admitted to 

                                                 
1 Were § -304 not the controlling statute, since the authority of the court here is “the same as authorized in Title 46, 

chapter 18,” Kepler’s suspended sentence would be revoked under the mere preponderance standard set forth at Mont. 

Code Ann. § 46-18-203, and the Court could then decide to continue the suspended sentence with or without changes, 

or to revoke the suspended sentence and require the offender to serve the sentence imposed.  § 46-18-203(7)(a).   
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absconding from supervision, a non-compliance violation of the conditions of his release. 

Additionally, the context of the revocation statute, where it is found within Part 3, 

“Disposition of Defendant,” of Chapter14, “Mental Competency of the Accused,” means 

that it reasonably applies to either persons who are either NGMI (not guilty but mentally 

ill), or persons who are GBMI (guilty but mentally ill).  Mr. Kepler is the second type. 

Sufficient evidence to support a revocation must be reasonable, and “satisfy the 

court that the conduct of the person on release has not been in keeping with the conditions 

of the release agreement.”  State v. Edmundson, 246 Mont. 241, 245 (1990), citing State v. 

Kern, 212 Mont. 385, 389 (1984).  The statutory requirement is found at Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 46-18-304, and was stated in the State’s Petition: 

In order to revoke a conditional release, the evidence must support a finding that: 

(a) the conditions of release have not been fulfilled; and 

(b) based on the violations of the conditions and the person’s past mental 

health history, there is a substantial likelihood that the person continues to 

suffer from a mental disease or disorder that causes the person to present a 

substantial risk of: 

(i) serious bodily injury or death to the person or others; 

(ii) an imminent threat of physical injury to the person or others; or 

(iii) substantial property damage. 

 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-304(1).  Then, upon revocation, the court shall immediately 

order the person to be recommitted to the custody of the director of the department of public 

health and human services, subject to discharge or release only in accordance with the 

procedures provided in §§ 46-14-302 and -303.  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-304(3).  It is up 

to the director to determine subsequent discharge or release if “the person no longer suffers 

from a mental disease or disorder that causes the person to present a substantial risk of 
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serious bodily injury or death to the person or others.”  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-302(1). 

 Chapter 14 includes very specific statutes that are to be applied when the mental 

health of a Defendant is an issue.  It is therefore controlling over the statutes in Chapter 18, 

which apply to all Defendants in general, and all suspended sentences in general.  That is 

why the State’s position is that disposition of Kepler’s revocation should proceed as per 

Title 46, Chapter 14, Part 3 – so that the treatment of the individual and the protection of 

the public can be provided for in the sentencing order. 

 

Proof Submitted 

The State in this case presented undisputed evidence that Kepler has not fulfilled 

the conditions of his release.  Kepler absconded from Montana, a fact which he admitted. 

The State also presented undisputed evidence that Kepler, who was psychotic in 

2013 when he caused the death of Patricia Graves2, continues now to suffer from the mental 

disease of schizophrenia, and because of which he continues to present a substantial risk 

of harm to himself and others.  The Defendant’s claim that the “petition for revocation fell 

short of the necessary requirement for revocation,” is unsupported by the record or the 

testimony presented on February 22, 2022. 

At the evidentiary hearing, the State presented undisputed evidence that Kepler was 

                                                 
2 At the time of the fatal collision, Kepler was driving on a suspended Idaho license and was driving under the 

influence of methamphetamine and THC.  Evidence collected at the scene indicated that Kepler had been driving the 

wrong way down the interstate for at least 5 miles at speeds of up to 90-95 mph.  Ben Graves, Patricia’s husband, 

was injured in the collision and Patricia’s body was pinned in the vehicle for several hours.  Ben told Trooper Gill 

that he had attempted to move out of Kepler’s way several times, but that Kepler had deliberately mirrored his 

evasive actions until the two vehicles finally collided.  Trooper Gill found no evidence that Kepler attempted to slow 

down or avoid hitting the Graves’ vehicle, as there were no skid marks ahead of the point of impact. 
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psychotic while in Arizona, taking illegal drugs, and not complying with prescription 

medication regimens.  Both Officer Sean Daly and Dr. Bowman Smelko testified and 

reported to these facts.  Dr. Smelko specifically states he does not dispute the diagnosis.  

The State also presented sufficient evidence to satisfy the court that Kepler still 

presents a substantial risk of injury to himself and others.  Kepler does not dispute that he 

neglects to take his medication and continues to have episodes of psychosis and other 

symptoms of decompensation.  He admits recent marijuana and methamphetamine use.  

Kepler’s admissions to Dr. Smelko as to his repeated illegal drug use are not hearsay 

because they are statements of a party opponent; but even if they were, they are admissible 

as statements made for the purposes of medical treatment. 

Kepler’s own mother, Zaydee Rule, submitted two sworn affidavits (December 20, 

2021 and February 22, 2022) indicating that he experiences episodes of acute psychosis 

and decompensation when he does not take his medication.  She admits that one such 

episode occurred in July 2021, in Flagstaff.  

Further, her February 22, 2022 affidavit describes an incident in March 2021, in 

which he became paranoid and “extremely agitated” with her because he was having an 

acute psychotic episode.  She admits that “he kept insisting that I immediately stop the car, 

so much so that I became concerned he might take the wheel while I was driving so that he 

could get out of the car.”  This risk to her own safety caused her to take the nearest highway 

exit.  Her affidavit downplays this incident as just Kepler’s need to have a cigarette, but it 

does not negate what was earlier reported to Officer Daly.  He testified that she described 
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this to him as an assault in which Kepler did attempt to grab the wheel of the car while she 

was driving.  Officer Daly additionally testified to his concerns for community safety, as 

this incident is strikingly similar to the one in which Kepler killed Patricia Graves.  Ms. 

Rule conveniently neglects to mention that after the incident in March, Kepler was placed 

in a treatment facility called Recovery Innovations in Peoria, Arizona.  Nor does she admit 

that despite this treatment, he used meth again and suffered another decompensation 

episode in July 2021, leading to his arrest in Flagstaff. 

The Defendant has now represented to the Court that Dr. Bowman Smelko reported 

and then testified that Kepler presents absolutely no danger to the community and that he 

recommends Kepler be immediately released to his mother.  These are opinions of the 

Defendant not supported by the record.  Dr. Smelko provided no such unqualified 

testimony or recommendations.  It is unfortunate that Ms. Rule holds such a strong opinion 

that her son is not dangerous, because her efforts to advocate for him are counterproductive 

to the DPHHS mission. 3 

What the professional person stated was that a “major problem” for Kepler is 

supervision to make sure he complies with mandates to take injectable medications, engage 

in therapy, and have monitoring for illegal drug use.  In Dr. Smelko’s opinion, Kepler is 

only a “low risk” if he complies with these mandates.  The last words in his report are, 

“however, his compliance will be necessary.”  This cautionary language is no basis on 

which the Court may safely release Kepler from Powell County’s custody.  The regulated 

                                                 
3 Ms. Rule’s declaration that she would like to be appointed as Kepler’s guardian is irrelevant, as no petition has 

been filed in this Court, and a guardianship placement is not one of the sentences to be imposed at § 46-14-312. 
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environment of the Powell County jail is to be credited for providing a structure for Kepler 

which keeps the community safe from his psychosis – he has no opportunity to act 

otherwise.  However, what Kepler needs now is a medical discharge plan and appropriate 

prescriptions for psychiatric medications.  These must be provided by the Department of 

Public Health and Human Services, and Dr. Smelko’s evaluation is not an appropriate 

substitute.  Alarmingly, Ms. Rule has already stated to the Court that she does not want to 

supervise injectable medications if she deems them to be too expensive.  The State’s 

concern is to prevent yet another fatal vehicle event by someone who is a clear risk to 

public safety. 

Compensation of Dr. Smelko 

The Defendant has asked that the Court enter an order reimbursing Ms. Rule for Dr. 

Smelko’s evaluation, a cost of $3,000.  Cited in support of this request is a statute that is 

inapplicable to this case.  By their plain language, Mont. Code Ann. § 46-14-301 and § -

302 clearly apply only to persons who have been adjudicated NGMI (not guilty but 

mentally ill).  The State asks that the Court decline to order this reimbursement. 

Nine-Month Placement Limitation 

The Defendant has made argument that Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-203(7) and 

(8)(b)(ii) apply to the Court’s sentencing authority, and that somehow the Court may be 

limited from issuing a custodial order of more than 9 months.  However, a careful reading 

of the statute reveals that subpart (8) only applies when a Defendant has been found to have 

made a compliance violation —Kepler admitted to absconding from supervision, which is 
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a non-compliance violation.  More importantly, neither subpart applies, since the statutory 

language at (7)(ii)(A) and (B) clearly state that placement is for a “secure facility 

designated by the department” [(7)(ii)(A)] or “a community corrections facility or program 

designated by the department” [(7)(ii)(B)], emphasis added.  The “department” referred to 

in this statute is the Department of Corrections; however, Kepler was sentenced in 2014 

and as amended in 2017 to the custody of the Department of Public Health and Human 

Services, not to the Department of Corrections.  Kepler’s required disposition is immediate 

recommitment “to the custody of the director of the department of public health and human 

services.”  Mont. Code Ann. §§ 46-14-304, -312.   

Bond Hearing 

The Defendant, who has been convicted of a crime, is not entitled to bail.  Mont. 

Code Ann. §46-9-102.  The court shall order the detention of a defendant in a revocation 

proceeding.  Mont. Code Ann. § 46-9-107.  The court may only order release of a defendant 

in a revocation matter upon findings “that, if released, the defendant is not likely to flee or 

pose a danger to the safety of any person or the community.”  Id.  The Defendant in this 

case has absconded from supervision and is furthermore alleged to pose a serious danger 

to the community – based on his conviction history of having killed someone because of a 

psychotic episode involving illegal drugs, as well as his admissions regarding illegal drug 

use and recent psychosis, and the testimony of the Probation & Parole Officer Sean Daly.  

Kepler should not be released pending the disposition of this case. 

Kepler did not cause anyone harm on January 6, 2022 when he was taken to Helena 

for a medical appointment.  That is not sufficient assurance for the State that he is “safe” 
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to return to the community.  Since his incarceration in the Powell County jail, the constant 

presence of law enforcement staff has given him no opportunity to be anything otherwise.  

Officer Daly has already testified to his concerns about the volatility of the Defendant’s 

relationship with Ms. Rule – again, the instability of that relationship is addressed by 

keeping Kepler in jail until the Department can address his discharge needs. 

The State has no doubt that once the Defendant is committed to the custody of the 

Director of Public Health and Human Services, the Director will create an appropriate 

discharge plan for him, and within a reasonable time, Kepler will be released to the 

community within many of the same parameters that Dr. Smelko has recommended.  But 

before this can happen, the District Court must first dispose of the case and commit Kepler 

to the Director’s care and custody.  In the meantime, any request to release Kepler 

immediately into the care of a layperson would inappropriately jump this procedure.  The 

proper legal procedure for Kepler’s release must be adhered to. 

Conclusion 

A fully custodial sentence to the Montana Department of Public Health and Human 

Services is appropriate here.4  The record shows that Kepler is subject to unpredictable 

periods of medication non-compliance, illegal drug use, and repeated episodes of 

psychosis.  There is no evidence to indicate how long he might succeed during re-

suspension of any part of his remaining sentence.  None exists, because the record shows 

                                                 
4 This District Court has previously sentenced other DPHHS commits, upon revocation of a suspended sentence, to a 

fully custodial term.  See, e.g., State v. Fox, DC-09-24, Montana Third Judicial District Court, Powell County, 

December 14, 2021.  
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that when Kepler chooses not to take his medication, and when he also uses street drugs, 

psychosis inevitably recurs.  

Prior Sentencing Memorandum  

The State reiterates its discussion regarding proposed conditions of supervision.  As 

per the State’s previous sentencing memorandum, the State has no objection to Kepler 

being given credit toward any sentence that the District Court imposes based on the time 

he has spent in custody, as well as so-called “street time” credit. 

DATED this 17th day of March, 2022. 

/Kathryn McEnery/ 
Kathryn McEnery, electronically signed 

Powell County Attorney 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
I, Sarah E. Ward, Legal Assistant, hereby certify that a true copy of the foregoing 

Sentencing Memorandum  was hand-delivered on this 17th day of March, 2022, to: 

 

 Christopher Kepler 

 Powell County Jail 

313 Fourth Street 

Deer Lodge, MT  59722 

 

Courtesy copies were also e-mailed to: 

 

Matthew A. McKeon 

Datsopoulos, MacDonald & Lind, P.C. 

Central Square Building 

201 West Main, Suite 201 

Missoula, MT 59802 

mmckeon@dmllaw.com 

 jsweeney@dmllaw.com 

 

 Nicole Klein, Attorney for DPHHS 

 Nicole.Klein@mt.gov 

 

 Chad Parker, Attorney for DPHHS 

 Chad.Parker@mt.gov 

 

 Sean Daly, Probation & Parole 

 SDaly2@mt.gov 

 

 Zaydee Rule 

 zaydee@rulemedical.com 

 

//ss// Sarah E. Ward 

Electronically signed by: 
Sarah E. Ward 
Legal Assistant 
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PROPOSED CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION 

Should at any time the Department of Public Health and Human Services determine 

it appropriate to release the Defendant from custody to any form of community supervision, 

the following conditions shall apply: 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

1. The Defendant shall be subject to the supervision of the State of Montana, 

Department of Corrections, Adult Probation and Parole Bureau, and shall strictly 

adhere to all rules and regulations of the Adult Probation and Parole Bureau.  The 

Defendant shall sign an agreement as is signed by a probationer, incorporating all 

rules of supervision set forth in the Judgment of the Court, as well as the Defendant’s 

agreement to strictly adhere to all state Rules of Probationary Supervision of the 

Montana Department of Corrections Bureau of Probation and Parole (Bureau).  The 

Bureau shall be authorized to request the Court establish additional special 

conditions for the supervision of the Defendant, as necessary pursuant to Mont. 

Code Ann. §46-23-1011(4). 

2. The Defendant shall be subject to all standard rules and regulations including those 

regarding: residence; travel; employment and/or program; reporting; weapons; 

financial; search of person or property; laws and conduct; illegal drug use; 

supervision fees; alcohol and gambling.   The Defendant’s supervising officer will 

explain these rules and regulations in detail.  

3. The Defendant shall pay the fine and all statutorily mandated fees, costs and 

surcharges, unless expressly waived by the Court. 

4. The Defendant shall pay court-ordered restitution by money order or cashier’s check 

sent to the Department of Corrections, Collection Unit, P.O. Box 201350, Helena, 

MT 59620.  The Defendant shall be assessed a 10% administration fee on all 

restitution ordered.  All of the methods for collection of restitution provided under 

§46-18-241 through §46-18-249, MCA, shall apply, including garnishment of 
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wages and interception of tax refunds.  Pursuant to §46-18-244(6)(b), MCA, the 

Defendant shall sign a statement allowing any employer to garnish up to 25% of his 

wages.  The Defendant shall continue to make monthly restitution payments until 

he has paid full restitution, even after incarceration or supervision has ended.  

5. The Defendant shall submit to DNA testing. Already completed, per Officer Daly. 

6. The Defendant shall surrender to the Court any registry identification card issued 

under the Medical Marijuana Act. 

7. The Defendant shall not possess or consume intoxicants/alcohol, nor will he enter 

any place intoxicants are the primary item of sale.  He will submit to Breathalyzer 

testing or bodily fluid testing for drugs or alcohol as requested by his Probation & 

Parole Officer. 

8. The Defendant shall obtain a chemical dependency evaluation by a state approved 

evaluator.  The Defendant must pay for the evaluation and follow all of the 

evaluator’s treatment recommendations. 

9. The Defendant shall enter and remain in an aftercare treatment program for the 

entirety of the probationary period.  The Defendant shall pay for the cost of out-

patient alcohol treatment during the term of probation, if financially able.   

10. The Defendant shall advise all medical personnel of addiction history/conviction, 

including all prescribed narcotics and/or medical marijuana. 

11. The Defendant shall inform the Probation and Parole Officer of all prescriptions 

obtained from medical personnel prior to filling them.  The Defendant shall take all 

prescription medications as prescribed and in the manner in which they were 

prescribed. 

12. The Defendant shall obtain a mental health evaluation/assessment by a state-

approved evaluator.  The Defendant shall pay for the evaluation and shall comply 

with all of the evaluator’s treatment recommendations. 

13. The Defendant shall successfully complete Cognitive Principles and Restructuring 
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(C P & R) or a similar cognitive and behavioral modification program. 

14. The Defendant shall not knowingly have any contact, oral, written, electronic 

directly or through any third party, with the victim, unless such contact is voluntarily 

initiated by the victim through the Department of Corrections.  DOC staff may 

notify victims about the availability of opportunities for facilitated contact with their 

offenders without being considered “third parties”. 

15. The use of marijuana, including medical marijuana, will be detrimental to the 

Defendant’s rehabilitation and to the safety of the community.  The Defendant is, 

therefore, prohibited from participating in any medical marijuana program and is 

prohibited from using any marijuana while on supervision, unless the Defendant 

requests and the Court finds that due to the Defendant’s changed circumstances, 

medical marijuana will not be detrimental to the rehabilitation of the Defendant or 

to the safety of the community. 

16. The Defendant shall comply with all sanctions given as a result of an intervention, 

on-site (preliminary), or disciplinary hearing. 

17. The Defendant shall not enter any bars. 

18. The Defendant shall not enter any casinos. 

19. The Defendant shall not possess or use any electronic device or scanner capable of 

listening to law enforcement communications. 

20. The Defendant shall abide by a curfew as determined necessary and appropriate by 

the Probation and Parole Officer. 

21. The Defendant will complete any community service ordered by the Court or the 

Probation and Parole Officer. 

22. The Defendant shall not associate with probationers, parolees, prison inmates, or 

persons in the custody of any law enforcement agency without prior approval from 

the Probation and Parole Officer.  The Defendant shall not associate with persons 

as ordered by the Court or the Probation and Parole Officer. 
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23. The Defendant shall timely pay the fines, restitution and surcharges as provided for 

herein as arranged with his Probation and Parole Officer.   

24. The PSI report shall be released by the Department to certain persons, such as 

treatment providers, mental health providers, and/or medical providers, as needed 

for the Defendant’s rehabilitation. 

 

The following special conditions are also ordered: 

25. During any period of community release, the Defendant shall submit to urine testing 

and/or hair follicle testing and/or drug patch monitoring at his own expense if 

recommended by his Parole and Probation Officer. 

26. During any period of community release, the Defendant shall be prohibited from 

driving a motor vehicle or holding a driver’s license. 

27. The Defendant will execute an irrevocable authorization to the Adult Probation & 

Parole Division to receive Protected Health Information for each of his health care 

providers for the duration of his sentence. 

28. The Defendant will reside where authorized by the Director of the Department and 

abide by all rules and regulations of any housing placement. 

29. The Defendant will remain in mental and behavioral health services as authorized 

and directed by the Director of the Department and comply with all case 

management plans, treatment plans, and treatment recommendations of the 

providers and professionals.  This includes inpatient or outpatient treatment, 

residential placement, day treatment, individual therapy, assessments, and other 

aspects of care, on whatever daily or weekly basis as directed. 

30. The Defendant will comply with all psychiatric medication programs prescribed by 

his treating psychiatrist or physician.  He will not purchase or have in his possession 

any over the counter medications unless prescribed by his psychiatrist or physician.  

He will not change his treating provider or enter into a treatment relationship with 
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another health care provider without permission of the Director.  This includes any 

regimen of intramuscular injection of medications if recommended. 

31. If in the opinion of the Defendant’s treatment professionals, the Defendant requires 

a medication adjustment or other treatment that requires placement in an inpatient 

psychiatric setting, he will voluntarily agree to the placement. 

32. The Defendant will meet with his treating psychiatrist or physician on a regular basis 

to monitor medication and psychiatric symptoms.  The frequency of appointments 

will be as determined by the treating provider.  He will cooperate with any 

laboratory testing if recommended by his treating provider to monitor medication 

supervision. 

33. The Defendant will maintain an appropriate daily activity schedule of day treatment, 

work, or other activities as approved by the Director. 

 

 




