Note: Articles prior to 2015 can be found on the Pressroom Archives.

Montana Counties Designated as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought Conditions

Montana Counties Designated as Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought Conditions

Wednesday, July 15, 2015/Categories: Department of Agriculture, Governor's Office/Tags:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                         July 15, 2015


Mike Wessler, Deputy Communications Director, Governor’s Office, 444-9725

Jayson O’Neill, Communications Director, Montana Department of Agriculture, 444-3684

HELENA – Governor Steve Bullock today announced fifteen Montana counties have been designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture as primary natural disaster areas due to drought conditions, and nine additional ones have been named contiguous disaster counties. Secretary Tom Vilsack notified Bullock through a letter this morning. This declaration allows farm operators in these designated counties to be considered for assistance from the Farm Services Agency (FSA) to recover from losses as a result of a natural disaster.

Counties designated as primary disaster areas are:

  • Beaverhead
  • Deer Lodge
  • Flathead
  • Glacier
  • Granite
  • Lake
  • Lewis & Clark
  • Lincoln
  • Mineral
  • Missoula
  • Pondera
  • Powell
  • Ravalli
  • Sanders
  • Silver Bow

Areas designated as contiguous disaster counties are:

  • Broadwater
  • Cascade
  • Choteau
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Madison
  • Meagher
  • Teton
  • Toole

“Farmers from many Montana communities are feeling the impacts of drought conditions. This declaration will provide much needed assistance to agriculture producers that have seen or will have significant crop damage or loss,” Bullock said of the declaration. “With low snowpack and rain, we know many other communities throughout the state are struggling with dry conditions, and my administration will work closely with the USDA to monitor conditions and take any appropriate steps to provide assistance.”

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the disaster declaration to apply for an emergency loan. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with more information. More information about this declaration can be found at:

The Montana Drought Advisory Committee, which is chaired by Lt. Gov. Angela McLean, will meet tomorrow, July 16th, in Helena to discuss the latest drought conditions in the state.

Vilsack’s letter can be found at:




Number of views (20703)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.