Note: Articles prior to 2015 can be found on the Pressroom Archives.

Governor Bullock Declares Drought Disaster in 31 Counties, 6 Indian Reservations

Friday, August 18, 2017/Categories: Governor's Office/Tags:

Governor Steve Bullock today issued an Executive Order declaring the following 31 counties and six Indian Reservations are in drought disaster: 

Blaine, Big Horn, Carter, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, Lake, Lincoln, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sanders, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, Yellowstone, Wheatland, Wibaux Counties, and the Fort Peck Indian Reservation, Fort Belknap Indian Reservation, Rocky Boy’s Indian Reservation, Crow Indian Reservation, Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation, and the Flathead Indian Reservation.

“High temperatures, extreme drought, and worsening fire conditions are affecting Montanans in many corners of our state,” said Governor Bullock. “We’re doing everything we can to minimize the economic impact of these hot and dry conditions and help folks get back on their feet using all resources available.”

This drought disaster declaration continues the temporary suspension of “hours of service” regulations and waives temporary registration, temporary fuel permits, and over-dimensional permit requirements for commercial vehicles providing support for the drought. The declaration also compels maximum employee assistance and cooperation with the United States Departments’ of Agriculture and Commerce to secure timely economic assistance.

As of July 10, 2017, small nonfarm businesses in 16 Montana counties are eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration after Governor Bullock sent a letter to Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting a Secretarial Drought Disaster Designation. Affected counties and reservations are also eligible for the Livestock Forage Program.

Governor Bullock’s new Executive Order is attached. On July 19, 2017, Governor Bullock issued Executive Order 6-2017 declaring 28 Montana counties and five Indian Reservations in a drought disaster.

For more information visit


Number of views (10944)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.